I had heard a little about 2001: A Space Odyssey just from reading about it on the lists I scrounged through to make my own, but I never really knew what it was about or even that it was a Stanley Kubrick movie. In the first little bit of the movie, primarily during the ape or “Dawn of Man” scenes, I really thought I had picked a painfully long and cheesy movie. I don’t know when exactly it happened, but at some point around Floyd talking with the other doctors, I got sucked into the amazing score and how little dialog was in the movie. The space shots coupled with the classical pieces (especially with a good set of headphones) was entrancing. Even taking into account the time period that this movie was shot in, I am really impressed with the visual effects and the sound quality. Hopefully my list keeps up with the trend of surprising me with gems like this one.

TrashCan Rating: 5/5

